Who is Who at the Big Data for Bees Hackathon

Hi all :wave: I am Anne, co founder of FarmHack! I will be one of your hosts during the hackathon, looking forward to meet everyone! I have a background in animal science, worked for the Ministry of Agriculture, and have been running FarmHack full time for a few years now, with the rest of the team. Really passionate about collaboration and open data, open source, and the future of food and agriculture :honeybee::blue_heart:

Hello!

My name is Sigmar. I m from Estonia and I m a beekeeper and a Ph.D. student at the Estonian University of Life Sciences, where my field of study is honeybees diseases - in short, I’m studying a pathogen that may be one of the co-causes of the bee’s death (Nosema a. and Nosema c.). My main research area is to find how and whether Interaction of pesticides and pathogens affect honeybee health.

Managing about 150 colonies by myself and growing every year, next year I would like to send about 250 colonies to “survive the winter!” :slight_smile:

So far I`ve been in one hackathon and our team ended up in second place. I believe that with my beekeeping and science experiences, I suit pretty well here and looking forward to meeting all of you.

If you have any further questions, feel free to ask them :slight_smile:

Hello!